I recently visited one of my favorite cities: Austin, Texas. While there I popped into Austin Book & Comics located on 5002 North Lamar Blvd. Austin, Texas 78751.  I’m not sure if it was the giant Hulk, the knowledge of the staff, or just how organized the store is. Whatever the reason, Austin Books & Comics is probably one the best comic book stores I’ve been to in a long time. photo by vegantiff

Austin Books & Comics has a great number of comics from genres such as Scfi-Fi, Action, Western, Action, War, Fantasy, and Horror. Being a fan of indie comics I have to say that I was super impressed with Austin Books and Comics selection of indie titles which includes the works of Liz Prince, Chris Ware, Alison Bechdel, Hernandez Brothers, and Aaron Renier. ABC is a great place to go if you are into getting trade paperbacks and their graphic novels are 10% off every day. Not to forgetting the kiddos, Austin Books offers up a section of all ages comics for kids. And if you can’t find what you are looking for, their friendly staff is more than willing to order it for you. Austin Books and Comics also has a  large selection of overstock single issues. The selection of single issues varies between classic series and those that might have been forgotten. Combing through one box of issues a friend I was with came across a comic book featuring former President Ronald Regan.

photo by vegantiff

If you need another reason to love ABC , well how about their selection of comic book related shirts and toys.  With the holidays coming up soon ABC is the place to shop for the geeky person in your life . The store has a Venom mask, Legion of Super Heroes action figures, and Hawk Women shirts.

photo by vegantiff

It literally took me three hours to see what the store has to offer, and I still feel as if I didn’t see everything. While in the store you get a sense of community that is often hard to find in many stores. I highly urge that if you ever find yourself in the Austin, Texas area make sure you pay a visit to the gang over at Austin Books & Comics.

Austin Books and Comics is opened seven days a week

Monday,Tuesday, Thursday and Friday: 11 am – 7pm.

Wednesday: 10am – 7pm

Sunday: 12pm – 6pm

